Auckland

After 2 and a half short but awesome weeks in Thailand and Malaysia, we flew off from Kuala Lumpur to New Zealand. To say the least, I was sad to be leaving Asia. I would have loved to have stayed longer (like a couple of months longer) but I also couldn’t contain my excitement for getting to New Zealand.

By the time we got on our flight we were feeling a lot better from the bed bug bites (see previous posts) and we were able to relax and enjoy the flight. We took full advantage of the inflight services. We had a few drinks, ate a lot of food, watched some movies and I helped myself to an Emirates blanket.

Arriving in Auckland, the first thing we notice was how clean it was. All the Asian cites we were in were hot, smoggy and dirty and Auckland was like a breath of fresh air. It was bloody freezing though. We went from wearing shorts and t-shirts and lying on the beach everyday to wearing wooly socks, long pants and jackets. Despite the cold, the weather was bright and clear, brisk you might call it… and as cliché as it is to say, it reminded me of Ireland.

The first few days there we busied ourselves with the setting up of bank accounts and applying for IRDs (tax numbers). Normally its pretty straight forward stuff but for us it became a long drawn out process. It sorted itself out in the end so it’s all good.

We stayed a total of 10 days in the city and there was a lot to do and see. There was the tall ships festival happening, museums to check out, shops to look at and restaurants and cafes to have drinks and snacks in. Auckland has an awesome skatepark that I spent a lot of time at. Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures from there because I was too busy skating ;).

If you go to Auckland I highly recommend you to have a stroll around Albert Park. Its beautiful and it has some of the most impressive trees I’ve ever seen. For me it was a massive playground of things to climb.

Auckland treated us well and it was a great city. If I force myself to criticize it in some way I would say that it sometimes lacks the atmosphere that other cities (such as Melbourne) have. It’s also a bit pricey.

New ink

New ink

_MG_1368

This guy really wanted his picture taken with us

This guy really wanted his picture taken with us

Jasmin carrying the board so that i can take pictures

Jasmin carrying the board so that i can take pictures

Due in 8 weeks

Due in 8 weeks

Tall ships festival

Tall ships festival

_MG_1416 _MG_1424 _MG_1426 _MG_1428 _MG_1429

Click!

Click!

_MG_1433

Father Ted on tap

Father Ted on tap

_MG_1438 _MG_1439 _MG_1444

One of the locals

One of the locals

Leave a Reply

